Tuesday, December 28, 2010

More Dancing Juice!

I absolutely am in love with Bruno Mar's Marry You. Here is the Glee version: So freaking adorable

Also, found this today: http://www.borowitzreport.com/
Best is the last quote: "It's as white as a Glenn Beck rally out there!"

So I was in Facebook today stalking people I barely have a connection to. And I found this one guy I kind of seriously had a weird thing for. He has a special lady in his life now (kudos) and when I saw her picture I was like Damn! She's really fucking hot!

Ain't shit funny?

Thursday, December 23, 2010

When does handwriting stop changing?

So I am home now for a short winter break in Virginia. In my room I found an old sketch notebook and flipped open to a poem I had written in 2003. In 2003 "Finding Nemo" came out, the Irag War was ramping up, SARS happened, Valerie Plame happened...that was a looooooong time ago.


It was July 2003. It was the summer before my senior year of high school. And beside the horrifically emotional drag that is the context of my poem I was taken by my handwriting. It doesn't appear to have changed at all. In 7 years. If anything I think I write with more loopy-ness. I still don't have very girly handwriting. You know how you can tell by looking at handwriting whether it's a male or female most of the time. Yeah with mine you can't. I kind of like that about it.

Well my holiday shopping is definitely not what it was. This year I really don't have the funds to go all out, but that is good. Christmas is not as frivolous as it was to me before...I used to be very into the quantity and how pretty all the boxes and packages looked under the tree. But now, maybe as I have grown older and more tired of it all, it's all very silly. Honestly if I really need or want something I will get it myself. And I usually don't want anything that is beyond my means. It's just stupid to pine for something you can't reasonably get. I know I don't need much so I don't want much...Perhaps if I were richer I would want more things.

Really all I want this year to get into a grad program. Oh yes and nice field job before that would be super too. I have more apps to get out but after the New Year I should start hearing back from people. Hopefully. Anyways, I am learning more and more about birds and this one was an early favorite. I give you, the bearded vulture (aka Lammergeier, Gypaetus barbatus). 
Birds are so easy to like, no? What a beast of a creature!
Apparently they believed it to attack lambs so hence the German name roughly coming out to "lamb vulture." So these birds' range stretch throughout the mountains of southern Europe, Africa, India, and Tibet. It is in decline in Europe but is doing pretty well in Asia. It hates rotting meat and eats mostly bones. 90% bone marrow so say the experts. They drop the bones from as high as 200 feet sometimes several times! To become a pro at this takes 7 years. They have been known to drop tortoises this way too...imagine that visual.  It is this particular behavior that has made it so appealing to folklore. In Iran, it is quite an auspicious sign it the shadow of one falls on you as the Lammergeier is a symbol of luck.


That is all for now - Graneledone

Sunday, December 12, 2010

And in the end...

2010 snuck up on me pretty fast. In the beginning of this year I was working for a museum I had been at for over 2 years. In a play to cut the umbilical cord tying me to my stagnant life (let's be honest :/) I left my cozy surroundings and took a job doing 'research.' I ran in the woods, I trapped animals, I collected arthropods. I sweated my lady balls off! I worked damn hard DAMMIT!
Ok, lunch calls. More later. I feel like once I air out my year everything will feel better. I should really find my jounral...the one you physically write in I have no idea where that is...

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

First post ever!

I am in a funk. That is simply it. I have gone through the last 2 weeks in a funk - an unproductive, lazy, helpless funk where I eat way too much, watch Hulu instead of working on my grad applications and generally whine about my life which isn't half bad.
I am not remarkable. My story has it's interesting bits but I'm sure anyone with a decent grasp of the English language can spin their life into a gripping tale. Here's my shot at it.

I'm in my mid 20s, applying to grad school in the biological sciences after 2 years of work and various internships and jobs.
I didn't initially want to go to graduate school. After my bachelor's I was pretty much set. But after a while doing research jobs/internships I realized, 'Hey, there are some things I am interested in and confident I want to pursue.' To 'pursue' anything in the sciences you're going to need more school. I started looking at grad programs and emailing people and getting some goods responses. So here I am, in the middle of applying and I realize I have entered a pretty cut-throat game a total noobie.
The whole world of academic research was completely unknown to me as an undergrad. I didn't know how grants, tenure, fellowships, stipends, graduate committees and publishing worked. I picked up stuff along the way; I gathered each new bit of information and slowly constructed this world of which I now feel I know how the gears fit. It's a strange world and I'm sure it took a while to develop the current hierarchy and procedure. And alas, though I find some academic rituals unappealing I am throwing my hat in the ring!
It's kind of exciting to enter this game. My scores are not grand but decent. My experience is awesome so I am banking on that to win me a spot somewhere. I don't know who I am up against 5, 50, or 500 applicants?? People with 3.9 GPAs? Research on exotic jungle diseases? An internship at Fermilab? Yeah, I won't stand a chance. I've been told I undersell myself. I know I have some things going for me but I am also not ignorant of the many other accomplished peers I grew up with.
I think this is partly what's gotten me in this funk. I frequently feel as though I am not good enough. And that so many other people are ahead of me in the game...

It's midnight on a Tuesday night and I am not in the best of moods (for many reasons). I will end on a good note though. I may not be a genius but I do have curiosity that extends to most subjects. I think I can be persistent and I put a lot of effort in things I find worthwhile. There's a quote somewhere about how brains can only get you so far but in the end it's about effort and work. That one, let's end on that.