Tuesday, August 2, 2011

Reconvening

Ok been a while. Heading out to Oregon at the end of August!!! So freaking psyched! Am glad to be done with field jobs and just chilling at home.
Actually getting a little bored. Am reading up about Scandinavian history. Don't ask why. What else is new, what else....Oh I am super into True Blood now!!! Yes, it's holding me in a iron-clad grip and not letting go! Yes I know, it is camp but I adore it.
Yes yes yes, just trying not to melt in this summer heat and preparing for the move to the west coast! This whole year I was waiting for  this time! I mean, January and February does not feel like too long ago you know? The waiting was awful! Not knowing what I was going to do at the end of summer, where I was going to go....and now. Well, now I'll be set for the next 5-7 years! God I hope it doesn't take 7 years!
But I am so excited! To be back at school! Back on campus! Reading, getting into the field! Traveling hopefully!
Ok, I think I will read some more.

Friday, March 11, 2011

Adorable ranking: Outta the park!

I look at cute stuff all the time. Youtube, Cute Overload anyone? But this has got to be the cutest thing I have seen since...Otters holding hands?  That yellow labrador puppy whistling? That little pig in red boots?
Those all PALE in comparison to this new gem! I have found a new leader!!! Ahhhhhh.

Ok well seriously, I leave tomorrow! Exciting but oddly feel like it's not going to happen...Like something is wrong, they didn't want me and it is all a mistake. I've got Imposter syndrome and I am not even in grad school yet! Oh my willies. Going to watch the new 30 Rock to calm down.

Friday, March 4, 2011

OK another venting post...

Ok so it is March now. March, this is the month where shit is suppose to get real. So far I have one reject (Duke-ok, my fit with them was not all there and it was an impulse app...my most expensive app so there ya go). One interview...and silence from the rest.
I know Chicago is super duper elite and my scores alone, while keeping me from the immediate reject pile, are probably not going to win anyone over. Actually, my experience probably isn't as fancy as other applicants...arrrrr. Dude, I feel like I've done this before. Did I post about this before...this sure feels familiar.
Anyways, I am thinking I am on their unofficial waitlist...As for Indiana and Oregon State...waiting...I really thought I could go to Indiana's interview weekend but :(
Sadness. Ok. Think ahead. I am reading a lot blogs in Austria to glean information and get excited for my visit!
Anyways, ALSO getting amped for this summer! Having grad school on my mind is keeping me from thinking about my summer excursions - not that I am not excited about them but grad school is soooo close!
This summer is going to be kick ass. Up first, Louisiana!




Ta Da! My home on the Gulf coast! Can't wait!

Sunday, February 27, 2011

Almost March...

Am watching the Oscars and I am in love with Cate Blanchett's dress. See here:





It is phenomenal no? This is beyond cool and totally sticks out of the safer ,although very nice, fare. Anyway. February is almost over. I have one interview and one rejection. No surprise on the rejection, it was the main outlier of my group as the research interest was different. Anyways, I just realized since my visit is later in the month, I might already have heard back from my other schools by the time I interview there! One of my schools (Chicago) is really hard to get into...and I don't think my grades will make the cut. If I am offed I would not be surprised at all. I am surprised really that I have not heard anything back yet...

Blarg. I just want to know. I need to stop eating that's what I need to do. Eating out of boredom, nervousness, and sometimes, yes, hunger.

Sunday, February 20, 2011

Blarggy blarg blarg


I have discovered a show on TLC called My Strange Addiction. It is becoming my addiction! So weird how some people develop some of these obsessions! There are the regular ones which are not too far fetched, i.e. tanning, shopping, even wearing fur costumes. Those are strange but I have heard about those before! It is intriguing for me that the oddest ones involve eating something. Like couch cushions, Comet, chalk, toilet paper (clean!), etc. Eating is a necessary part of life but it can be very emotional experience for a lot of people. I love food, I love good food, rare food, expensive food. But I don't binge eat, I don't eat my feelings, I don't withhold food...or any other combination of the more common eating disorders out there.
And then there is the girl who eats chalk. I think all those weird eating things probably have the same emotional roots as the common eating disorders but to fixate on one item to eat, and on something that is not even food! That is really out there!
I really felt for the lady that ate Comet cleanser. She was so nice you could really tell she was a lovely person. And after her trip to the dentist she had a sincere break through and if the caption at the end is correct she did stop eating it. And that really made me happy.
Anyways, I should walk the babies now...

Thursday, February 17, 2011

February is a short month!

So I have started helping out at my sister's vet clinic to keep from going crazy and to learn some stuff.
1. Drilling teeth creates a weird smell (it's 10% dentals this month!)
2. Dogs will eat anything! (Ice packs included....)
3. Always good to have bottles of lotion at random tables as there is a lot of hand washing at this place!

I love it! It is so nice to work with animals all day! Every day ANIMALS! Not that I want to change my career or anything but I must say, it's hard to feel crappy about life when you are around them all the time. Of course it is sad. When working I spied a room that looked a lot nicer than the other examining rooms. Nice wall color, couch, painting on the wall...Why is this room so tranquil compared to the rest?? It's the room where pets are put to sleep...I was walking around and saw they were doing an ultrasound of an old cat. It had a big ginormous mass in its belly. I didn't ask more but when I saw some of the lights were out in one part of the clinic I asked what was happening and someone said an animal was being out to sleep - I look over at the nice room and the door is now closed...
So weird, I just saw that cat. I guess there was nothing they could do, and it was in pain...
Very very sad. I have Thursdays off so today I spent with the babies and took them on a nice walk. It makes me not want to ever move out and leave them behind!

Sunday, February 13, 2011

Adele - Rolling in the Deep

Am very much obsessed with this song right now:

Saw it played in a trailer for I am Number Four. Now I kind of want to see it.

Mid-February

I remember back when i was first applying I thought maybe the total pool of applicants is like 30...or 50. Flash forward to now after I have scoped out some grad school forums....the number is closer to 100. Sometimes more. Ack!
Oh well, so far I haven't been rejected by anyone yet...I really hope to hear back from my US schools but it is great to go to Austria for an interview next month! I already have my ticket and am brushing up on my current literature so I don't look like a total doofus when I get there!
I have starting reading a lot about the country. In general it seems like a great place of culture and history!  But I am also super excited to see my family in France!!! I wish I could've made it so I did the interview first then had a week to relax in Paris, but alas - the way the dates worked out and my job (!) I really could not stay after the interview :( So, it is one week in France followed by 3 days in Austria!

I will miss the babies when I leave for work in March...come Fall I will be somewhere else for grad school, somewhere far far away!
Anyways, enjoy the ridiculousness of this:

Monday, February 7, 2011

Chuggin' along

Well. I can't say I am in the best mood right now. I should be. But it has been the weirdest 24 hours...
But today started great! I woke up and not 10 minutes after I receive a phone call from a really long number. I almost don't answer but seeing as how I should be getting phone calls from unfamiliar numbers now I pick up...and it is someone with an accent and at first I don;t make out much, then I hear 'Austria.'


Austria?!? I applied to a school there! So once I figure out it is someone from the school we proceed to talk a bit and they ask me why I applied there and I mention two people whose research I am interested in and the person on the phone goes, "Oh, I am So-and-So" one of the people I name checked in my SOP!! Woooooo! Well, it was not a long phone call and while I'm talking I am thinking why are they calling me. Uli said I would hear about interviews in mid-Feb...and sure enough at the end she invites me to their official interview visit!!! Yes! Should receive an email for more updates! I can't believe it my first interview!
I was shaking when I got off the phone! This day has gone by so fast. That plus the starfish name a friend named for me has made me soooo excited!!!


And of course I am happy and I text everyone I know. Everyone. *sigh* Tre sad the end of things.
Oh but I have so much to be happy for. I get over things fast. Always have. I bounce back, like trends from the 80s.

Sunday, February 6, 2011

One More


Breathing in...and out...
everything is going to be ok...something will happen and you will handle it...don't forget to floss.

Cute!


 Someone needs to take the internet away from me...

WHHYYYY GOD WHYYYYYY

I have had 2 months to get used to not being with him. It never would have worked...in fact it might have been so stress inducing it would have ruined us...So officially as of around 1 am this morning - I am single. This sucks.
Not that I feel that I need to be with anyone...really just him.

Oh but I know it is for the best. Right now is not a stable time for having a significant other. For me or him. But it still hurts but the great part is that I know we are in a good place where we can still be good friends. And maybe one day down the line...when the universe aligns the planets in the axis of Jupiter and the stars glow green in a dusky velvet sky...maybe things will works out.

For now I will try to keep busy until I hear back from grad schools. It is February 6th today! I should hear back from a job this week too....Ok goal, I will have acquired a second field research job by the end of the this!

Ok going to breathe. Going to be fine. Food. Food is friend.

Thursday, February 3, 2011

Was this because of what I said about bananas the other day?

So I have been awake since around 5 am due to a cramp in my side. This is the longest lasting MF I have eva experienced!! Really I will eat more bananas Universe just make it go away so I can sleep!!!
I'm sorry I said banana flavored things are yucky!

Saturday, January 29, 2011

Freak Out Countdown...

Ok, January is almost over now and I reserve the right to freak out around...February 6...That sounds about right. 
I think I should be hearing back from school around next month. I heard back from one of my POI that he can take on 1 grad student and that it is down to me and one other person. I am dying to know what this person's profile looks like! Argh! And no word back from anyone else. At least I know about Austria I should hear something by mid-Feb otherwise I'm basically not getting in. I am worried though. About my SOP, not specific enough, I was kind of open in it regarding the direction of my research. I mean hey, I know what I am interested in (and dude, that can totally change!) but it's not like I have a perfect clear-cut thesis project outlined already! Everyone has said that is ok but looking around Grad Cafe it seems to be the opposite! Then again I do think most of those people are crazy over achievers :/
And my courses! I never took Micro! I really want to get into in my graduate studies but I am afraid it is a huge major blip in my file! I have so much eco/wildlife/macro stuff especially in the crucial two last years....Oh I don't know!!!
Well, at least I have my summer jobs to look forward to! Louisiana in April/May and maybe Iowa or Nevada in May-Jul. Until then I have my resume at a temp agency...and signed up to volunteer at a local bird rehab facility. That really sounds like  fun! Ok, I need to catch up on background reading on viruses!


Bonne nuit!

Friday, January 21, 2011

Waiting, waiting, waiting, OH EMAIL!

That is basically my day now. Aimless wandering around and checking my email every 10 minutes to see if I have ANY word on grad schools....I have called everyone I can and have interview dates for 3/5 schools. Most are in February except for the school in Europe...I hope I get an invite somewhere! So far the most contact i have had is at Oregon State. My POI (person of interest) is very nice, totally chill and seems interested in me! Yay! I have another Skype interview with him soon, this time hopefully with his grad student so we can discuss the lab and what working with him is like :)

I'm thinking I should maybe contact his former grad student who is now a post doc...I have run into her before when I was looking at labs to apply for, she is the post doc for a good lab in a good school but it was a place I didn't apply to. Yes, I think I will contact her. Maybe today.

Well, on the job front I have accepted a radio tracking position for a spring migration project! Very excited for that! I will get to live in Louisiana! Louisiana! I actually applied for an easier mist netting job (4 hires) but was interviewed for this position instead, I didn't even think I was qualified! But apparently they liked me and training is no big whoop. Am waiting for more paperwork to get done...argh but this waiting for grad school is grueling! The interview timelines affected my job search considerably. It is hard to get away from a field job to do these interviews and this job does not interfere with them...Eekkk, wouldn't it be funny if I didn't get interview for the European school and my whole March was EMPTY! HA

Well, people are posting things on the Grad Cafe about interviews, rejections, waitlisting, and acceptances. As far as I can tell not too many Eco/Evol news is out yet. Mainly it is psych, neuro, and some humanties. Of course it could mean that eco/evol people don't post there...but there is a thread for us and I know there are people in it. Well this is what one person wrote in the Results page: MIT, Computer Science PhD F11, Stats: GPA 4.00, GRE: 900Q/900V, 150 journal publications, 2 Nobel prizes. I am 16 years old
Hilarious! This totally made my morning! Well, I guess I should pack now. Am heading up to Philly and will hopefully seem some new birds in New Jersey!
I hung out with some local Audubon people last weekend for some winter duck viewing! I really should update my list now!

Sunday, January 9, 2011

The Ball has commenced rolling

I am listening to the Glee soundtrack. The 4th one! I cannot get enough of this TV show. It's not even that good...first season was new and quirky but the following seems a bit forced. And I feel like they are just grasping in the air for interesting plots. But it doesn't matter for this viewer. As long as it is semi interesting, I'm all in it for the moments where they break out into songs and dance!

I realized I never compiled a list of birds I have seen on my walks in the marsh. So, I arrived in Virginia January 2nd - and due to my budding interest in birding and a little bit to sheer boredom I have started frequenting that marshy expanse for some birding practice. Some days have been more fruitful than others, it is still very cold so I never stay out more than 2 hours. But here is what I have seen so far:
Dark eyed Junco (dark slate variety)
Cardinal
Blue Jay
Carolina chickadee
Sparrow (usually white throated, I'm not so good at sparrow but I'm trying!)
Mocking bird
Red winged blackbird
Tufted titmouse
Red tailed hawk
Turkey vulture
American crow
Northern flicker
Downy woodpecker
Red bellied woodpecker
Goldfinch
Yellow rumped warbler ( I was really excited about this because I thought it was a sparrow at first but then I noticed the bill and luckily I had my book with me and solved the mystery!)

White breasted nuthatch

Tuesday, January 4, 2011

2 new species!

So I went on a short outing today in my neighborhood to see what kind of birds I could see. The last time I went (my first) I ventured into the marshy area and saw lots of cool birds! Over 20 species which was awesome because it was the first time I went out here and by myself and I was kind of proud I could recognize them!

It get's a lot easier after a few times though. I brought my bird book today though - and good thing I did! I saw a red-bellied woodpecker, Melanerpes carolinus:
and a yellow-rumped warbler, Dendroica coronata:

At first when I saw the warbler I though 'Oh, sparrow' because it was a small puffed brownish slightly stripey thing and I saw it had yellow. But then I noticed the bill and I immediately got excited. Then I saw it had a yellow patch on its butt!
Small triumphs :)

I really need to clean out my room at some point tomorrow...O lordy. I have sent 17 applications out. Two have very close deadlines and no one has emailed or called yet so I take it those are not going to work out...so that make 15. I hope someone out there likes me. I emailed one job I was interested in and the lady said they had over 80 applicants apply. 80. Well, there was that Oregon job last year that had over 150 and they offered it to me so that was a good sign. But still, 80 applicants. How to make one stand out; I have decent experience but I don't know if it is going to make me stick out in the crowd. There is one job that is a short stint down in Florida. If I get that I might be able to pull off two field excursions before grad school! I even called the job contact, like 6 times now. I left a message the first time but he is never in! It would be so nice to be down in FL for the bulk of the winter season! Ok, well. I have a strong urge to watch Under the Tuscan Sun. No surprise it seems quite fitting right now...
Anyways I went to Delaware with Lobster and Nabisco to see some bald eagles. Nabisco isn't a birder but likes nature and we saw so many! I took some really bad shots with my camera! Here is one: